Functions Open, Open with, Check in, Update and continue working, Delete local copy in Check out files menu.

When you have checked out a file, a menu with buttons appears inside the web extension under Checked out files.

  • Open a file
  1. You can use this Open button to open a downloaded local copy.
  2. After clicking, in the dialog window you can (in some cases, and if you have not selected it before) select which program you want to open the file with (e.g. Word) and click OK. Now you can edit the file.
  • Open with
  1. You can use the button Open with to select which application you want to use to open an already downloaded local copy.
  2. After clicking, in the dialog window you can choose which program you want to open the file (e.g. Word) and click OK. Check the box if you want the operating system to remember your choice. Now you can edit the file.
  • Check in a file
  1. The button Check In is used to check in the file again.
  2. Click on Check in to check in the file and a new version will now be uploaded to the portal. The file is also deleted in your local Checked out files folder and the lock icon displayed in the web browser now disappears. If you still have the file open when you click Check In, you may get a message asking you to close the open file first. Do so and then click Retry to check in the file.
  • Update and continue working
  1. You can use the button Update and continue working to save a new version of your file to the portal, and then continue working with the file.
  2. Click Update and continue working and then a new version will be uploaded to the portal while the file remains open locally and you can continue working with it. The file also remains local and the lock icon continues to appear in the web browser.
  • Delete local copy
  1. This button Delete local copy is used to delete the file locally from your computer.
  2. Click Delete local copy to delete the file locally. The file is deleted from your local Checked out files folder and the lock icon displayed in the web browser disappears. If you still have the file open when you click Delete Local Copy, you may see a message asking you to close the open file first. Do so and then click Retry to delete the local copy.